The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The writer of this letter to appeal against the buiding of access road along the edge of the wetlands offers an interesting argument. But to move forwars on this would require more imformation an thought. While the correlations stated are logical and probable, there may be hidden factors that we need to take into consideration.

For example, consider the statistics provided in the letter regarding the neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, where the sanctuary status was repealed in 1978. But concluding that this repeal was the cause for the decline in sea otter populatin, without any background information, is a very improper conclusion. There might have been other major factors which played for the decline in the sea otter population, such as climate changes, sea water polutions due to industry dumpage, and many more. Unless proper detailed studies hae been conducted as to what was the prominent factors which played a role in declining of sea otters, it is not possible to quote this example in this argument. Had the argument provided enough background information to prove that the decline is due to the repeal of it's sanctuary status, even then the argument would have to prove that this would be the similar case with the tufted groundhog. Sice both animanls live in extremely different habitations - one in sea water and the other in coastal wetlands; it would be ambiguous to assume that the same result should be expected in the case of tufted groundhog.

Also, considering the information provided, it is unclear of as to why the writer provided the quoted information "ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions". It seems such that the writer of the letter wants to show that this species should be preserved by stating that this animanl was once found in large numbers. But what it doesn't provide information on is the current information in the animal - whether the animal is in the endangered list, whats its population figure, and other important statistics. It seems that he wants to gain a fake symphathy by just stating the population of the species during the ancient times. A proper study into the above-mentioned questions would reveal a more accurate analysis as to whether the devolopment of access roads would really endanger the species or not.

Lastly, the author does not consider the requirement for the access roads for West Lansburg. It might be so that the area is not developing due to the lack of accessibility with the outside world. Or the import of essential commodities such as food, medecines among others aren't readily available in time due to the same. These are major factors which needs to be addressed for any city, town or country. It might also be that building od the access roads along the "edges" of the wetlands might not endanger the tufted groundhog.

Examining all the various angles and facts involved in the letter, the argument does not justify that the building of the access roads along the coastal wetlands might endanger the tufted groundhog. While the letter does highlight a concern that should be looked into, more information is required.