The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The editorial puts forth a very interesting argument, considering the different faces of the sphere regarding how the autonomy of a country is affected, when considering illegal immigration. But the editorial leaves a lot of gaps, a lot of ambiguity, in it's analysis. I'd like to point out 3 factors that has to be considered while analysing the effects that illegal immigration can have on a country.

Firstly, the editorial doesn't consider the core reason influencing illegal immigrats to migrate to a country in the first place. People can illegally migrate to a nation primarily for two reasons. One, the nation borders along with a country with a devastated economy, such as Bangladesh, or a country which is conflict-stricken, such as Syria. Two, the nations economy is soaring high, due to which people, whose primary objective is to secure their future, would like to migrate to a country with better economy. Now, if their is a country that doesn't meet the both objective stated above, we can safetly consider that the illegal immigration isn't the major issue playing a significant role in the autonomisity of the country.

Secondly, the editorial doesn't consider the finance of the country, compared to the various other needs that the country demands. It might be so, that a third-world country doesn't have the necessary economy to look into the factor of illegal immigration. It's a daunting task, to identify the illegal immigrants of a country. Infrastructures established in various locations of the nation, sensitive-information handling teams, trained task-forces, are few of the many other things required. Is the country capable of supporting these, when compared to the various other needs that it is required to meet? The classic example for this view is the recent controversial CAA bill passed by Indian government in their parliament. It is true, that illegal immigration is present. But, identifying immigrants of such a large scale (as it is bordering few third-world countries), in such a huge country (areawise), which is the 7th-most populated country of the world, where government is not able to give proper education, or health services, where people die due to starvation, this is not a wise decision. Now, even if the government is successful in identifying the immigrants, as put forth by the prompt, they have to be made to return to their country of origin. That in itself is probably a more daunting task than identifying.

Now, considering the third ambiguity, I'd like to expound on the borders that the country of interest shares with, sice it was one of the major point in the prompt. Consider Australia, for example; no one really needs to question that illegal migration is a major issue. Why? because it's an island. It doesn't share it's border with any country. So, the place factor has to be given prior importance.

I'd like to conclude saying that the editorial does highlights a rather very important issue. But the ambiguites needs to be considered, in a case-by-case basis, depending on the country in consideration.