"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The central problem discussed in the letter is - "Which is preferable? Manned or unmanned space flight?"

It is human intelligence that designs the machineries required for space flight. Sending a manned spcae flight prevents a lot of complex machineries to be used, as the human is physically present to manually control the flight. Unmanned space flights requires automation for every controls, thus increasing the solution complexity and cost. But another perspective to be considered is - what are the mission objectives? Is it to collect obsevable information? Or is it to bring back physical samples to be examined upon? If it is the first case, then an unmanned space flight would be more preferable, as it is relatively simple to create an automated information collecting system. If not, then a manned flight would be preferable. It's beacuse automated sample collection is nearly impossible.

As mentioned in the letter, it is true that manned flights are dangerous, and there has been many incidents which supports this. But then again, the element of failure is less probable in case of manned flight. Space exploration is not something that can be programmed using algortihmic tasks. There is a lot of complex decisons that has to be taken depending on what the situation demands.

Also, it is most important to consider why man explores space in the first place? It is the excitement that man develops conquering the universe, which gives them the courage and enthusiasm to explore space more farther away.

The suitable question to ask is - "Which is most significant for the given mission objective?