A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is essential that a country holds up its reputation in implementing its law against criminal. And this implementation includes punishment as a consequence for the crime the individual has carried out. Now, most nations have a legal framework by which they judge the crime committed, and also decide what manner of punishment the criminal should be imposed on. The prompt suggests a different idea, for the consequence part, where the criminal should not retain the civil rights or the the right to benefit from his or her labour. I'd like to take a stand against the prompt, and in doing so, would like to mention two reasons as to why I support this stand against the prompt.

Firstly, the object in question are but two - one, the civil right, and the second, the right to benefit from the labour. These are the two major rights which a nation is responsible for providing its citizens. Or, rephrasing this, it is the two fundamental rights which makes a human a citizen of a particular nation under interest. Strip away the civil rights, and one can see the same consequences that one sees in a third-world country having no law and order. Strip away the right to benefit from his or her labour, the idea in itself, though not fully manifested, gives an essence of the slavery system that used to be prevalent few centuries back. The consequence put forward by the prompt, in its core, questions the citizenship of a crime doer. So, rephrasing the question would be like - if any crime is committed, should the criminal be reatained his right as a citizen of the country. This is a deeply disturbing questions, from the legalistic point of view. To further strenghten my point, I'd like to put forth a similar analogy, which can be drawn from a father-son relationship. Does doing anything (however worst imaginable) by the son disqualify him of his sonship by his father? I guess the answer is self-evident.

The second point I'd like to put forth is from the "means of living" perspective. The question is, will enacting such an idea has a disastorous effect on the lifes of those around him or her? Isn't the family of a man dependent on the head of the house. If we deny his right to earn or benefit from the labour he does, we are indirectly denying his means to earn, which in turn denies the mode by which he provides for his family needs. Thus in implementing such an idea practically, it will only lead to much more brokeness in the society, and if pondered more deeply, would cause further crimes to be committed in the name for survival.

Thus, I'd like to conclude, that, the denial if the civil rights and the rights for benefitting from labour would carry with itself disastorous consequences, such as which we might not be able to imagine, as we haven't seen it around us. The most accepted, by default punishment for the crimes in various societies are implemented by a term in prison, or other probation centres, so that the man commiting the crime can realize of his mistake, and might find repentance by bearing the consequence.