The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The presented argument by the president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country is no doubt an unwarrantable argument. He claimed that the surface of a section of a route has been cracked hence, impeding people's voyage on the roadway without highlighting the causes or influencing factors.

Many factors may have contributed to this setback especially due to poor road construction materials and improper engineering. In developing countries such as Nigeria, construction by various contract bodies are usually poor due to lack of adequate manpower, use of improper materials and corruption by the contractor. Gravels and asphalt are important constituents of the ingredients used in road construction, however, wrong mixture ratios may also affect the road quality thereby affecting the roads quality which may have induced the cracking.

More so, he did not mention or consider the type of cars or vehicles that move or take the route which may have a significant contribution to the cracking. Trailers, trucks, and other heavy machineries may have exerted weight on the route hence causing cracking.

If a road must be thread upon in ways that will reduce cracking and prevent accident, then, one must ensure that all adequate construction ingredients are used in the right proportion.