The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The vice president of a company is more persuaded by the work to assign the job of the construction their access roads to Appian Roadways, instead of the Good Intentions Roadways, would be a better deal. He recommends that the work done by them will last at least 4 years. Even if he adduces the belief in them by some logical there are few questions which need to be addressed in order to gain complete insight.

Firstly, he says that the Route 40 constructed by the Appian Roadways is still good and has been lasting until 4 years whereas, on the other hand, the Route 101 constructed by the Good Intentions Roadways have been cracked and also have numerous number of dangerous potholes. This may be the case if the Route 101 has been located in the adverse climatic conditions and have had numerous case of earthquakes which has resulted in the cracking of the road also the potholes may be the reason that it had been raining continuously and adversely which made the road to tear out whereas the route 40 has been favorable in terms of the climatic condition. In such a case, the claim made by the vice president may not hold good.

Secondly, the vice president is validating the logic that the Appian Roadways have recently acquired a paving machine and a control manager which give the sign that they have better technology and resources wheres this may not hold true if the Good Intentions Roadways may have had the machine and control manager in their company from the start and hence didn't require them to be hired. The Appian Roadways may have also marketed this machine and control manager in order to get new projects which make companies fall in their trap which the vice president is currently being fell into.

In conclusion, while the recommendation the Vice president is coherent with the idea of looking for the best company, the motivations upon he funds it need more answers to unspoken questions.