The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The memo passage by the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country recommends hiring the Appian Roadways company to construct the access roads for all their shopping malls. To support this statement, the author mentions that one of Appian Roadways' paved Roadways have been in good shape for more than four years. However, the surface of a section of Route 101 paved by Good Intentions Roadways has become badly cracked after just two years. Moreover, the author of the memo vindicates the argument by mentioning that the Appian Roadways recently purchased a state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. These series of evidences have led the author to believe that the Appian Roadways construction company will now provide better performances and predict that their achieved roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years. While on the surface these arguments appear to be cogent, on further scrutiny, we can see that it is rife with fallacies and assumptions and still leaves some unspoken questions that should be addressed.

Firstly, the author claims that Appian Roadways' constructed Roads last longer than Appian Roadways' roads by comparing the shape of the two roads located in different part of the state. This argument is questionable considering the fact that these roads could be located in different atmospheric conditions. Moreover, the section of Route 101 constructed by Good Intentions Roadways was maybe built in a cold area and since in cold weather, asphalt tends to become brittle. It is natural that the road develops cracks and potholes. Thus, a fair comparison cannot be established and the author needs to provide more information about the conditions under which the roads were built.

Secondly, the memo is basing its recommendation using a small-sample that evaluates the shape of only one road per construction company and claims that one of these road companies has performance superiority over the other. This fact question the credibility of the author's argument and a large-scale survey must be conducted in order to obtain trustworthy results.

Thirdly, the author insinuates that the Appian Roadways will be providing better performances after purchasing a new paving machinery and hiring a new quality-control manager. However, this argument does not promote the author's opinion because it might be true that the Appian Roadways achieved higher performances with the old manager but, it does not directly means that it will do the same with the new manager. Also, the new purchased machine can be very expensive and therefore, the new cost of the provided services by Appian Roadways company will increase making us wonder if the quality-cost ratio of this company is better than the Good Intentions Roadways. Consequently, unless more information is provided about the new machine and manager, we cannot be certain about their performances.

Finally, it may be said that the author has failed to make a convincing recommendation because of lack of statistical data and proper reasoning. The argument ends with an unrealistic optimistic conclusion based on superficial observations that is likely to be incorrect. However, if the author has answered the above questions clearly, his or her recommendation would have been more convincing.