The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this given report the writer suggests that with the daily use of Ichthaid which is derives from fish oil prevent West Meria people from cold. The writer mentioned solution for cold because he thinks the cold is reason for absenteeism in schools and workplaces in East Meria region. The recommendation is based on assumptions which are seems invincible to readers. There are loopholes in assumptions made by writer in the given argument.

Firstly, the writer assumes that the major reason behind absentees is cold. There are no evidences related to the assumption made by the writer, nevertheless writer don't even mentioned the weather conditions of East Meria and not even discussed about research based on absentees. Absenteeism has seen by council, but they are not finding concert reason behind it. It may plausible that people don't like working environment, or they have authoritative leaders that's why they discontinue the work again and again. As following elders’ behavior, the children also do not attend the school. Before suggesting advice for any problem one should find the root cause of problem.

Secondly, the writer guide to West Meria Public Health Council about nutritional supplements to deal with cold. This idea come from East Meria where people consume fish in much quantity. Because of consumption of fish people are healthy and visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of cold. It is not scientifically suggested these people are healthy because of fish. It may be possible they use some herbs to cook fish which increases their immunity against cold. In East region the weather conditions may better than West region which is also cause of cold. Without analyses the problem we cannot jumped to the conclusion which the writer did.

Additionally, the author relies heavily upon the fact the reasons given for absences from school and work were colds. It might probably be the situation that, people falsely pretend to have reported colds in order to validate their absence. Above all, the author seems to be inconsiderate when he claims that Ichthaid (a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil) will help in preventing colds and lessening absenteeism. The people of the place which the author is considering, may not be able to afford this supplement. It might even be the case that the manufacturing procedure for this supplement is complex or people may be allergic to the use of this supplement. When it is not known that, if people will even dare to use this supplement, it is not correct to argue that it will achieve the intended results.

Thus, the argument has flaws in assumption and the writer explained the results without evidences. So the argument needs to reviewed before recommending any solution.