A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the Bay City restaurants, the sales study indicate that consumption of seafood dishes has increased by 30 percent in last five years. As well as the nationwide study has shown that in Bay city which indicate that two-income families eat fewer home-cooked meal than they did a decade ago but the same time they are concerned about the healthful eating. On the basis of these two studies the author concluded that the new caption seafood restaurant will quite popular and profitable. However, the assumptions are fallacious and have no significant evidences to prove that captain Seafood restaurant will successfully run.

The firstly, the seafood dishes consumption increases up to 30 percent and there is no city restaurant is specialized in seafood. This given assumption does not mean that the new restaurants will become popular and profitable. It may possible that the people like seafood with combination of other dishes and they may dislike only seafood dish. The sales study is based on the sale of seafood and it ignores other factors which increases the demand. The increase has been noticed in last five years and this is very long time period and it may be possible that population also increased in such time period. People also migrate from one place to another and the with immigration the food habits also migrate. It may be possible the Seafood lover’s population increased in Bay City.

Secondly, the author talked about two-income people which are in majority in city and indicate that they eat more in restaurants than eat at home. They all like seafood is not mentioned in any research. The people earn more and spent more in restaurants, but they spent only on seafood or the seafood is their only liking is not mentioned, so we cannot assume that seafood specialized restaurant will surely earn profit. the nationwide study significantly mentioned they eat outside but as well as talked about health concern attitude. If the people are concerned about health, then they surely go for less spices and healthy food. The given research did not mentioned about liking towards seafood of the people, so the argument has unjustifiable evidences that the new Captain Seafood restaurant would be quite popular.

Finally, the resultant cannot get famous on its specialization, whereas the quality, taste of food and services also play important role. The new Captain Seafood restaurant should not take decision only on the basis of sales study and two-income families. They must analyze the market situations and understand the taste of people. People like which type of food can understand when they go to famous restaurants and shops. The author did not present current conditions of the market which makes the argument weaken.

In the view of above discussion, there are loopholes in the given argument and the author must review it before jumping to the conclusion. Before starting new business, one should do research of the market which is absent in the argument and the data taken from other researches also not beneficial.