The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The article about planning for retirement talks about Utopian township named Clearview. Clearview has spectacular natural beauty, consistent climate, less price from last years and different promises about improvement in schools, streets and public services and finally number of physicians. The article presents everything seems to be perfect and the argument appears convincing but when we go through its detailed analyses, we found reasoning which proves it weaken.

Moreover, after retirement people want to live with family and for family the town should be near to school, workplace, medical services and market. There is no indication of location of the town in the given article. If we suppose it will not be too far from important places, then Clearview's mayor's promises are forcing to think about the location and facilities. He promised to implement many new improvement programs in the town and there is no time limit when these programs will run properly. In age of retirement the people crossed 60 years of age which makes them tired from working. The city should have basic facilities to give comfort and mental support instead of secluding them from others.

Furthermore, the housing cost in Clearview have fallen significantly in comparison of last years and taxes are also lower than neighboring towns. it is another advantage according to writer of the given article which is also not appropriate. Decline in cost does not mean affordable price. It may be plausible that housing cost decreased in last years but still it is very high and for a retiree it is difficult to buy such costly house. One more important point to consider is taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns also seems to be very convincing but there is no evidences or statistical data which makes the statement stronger.

Finally, they mentioned that in Clearview the number of physicians is greater than the national average. It is absolutely true that in old age medical services become important, but the presence of physicians does not indicate good health care services. There should be well equipped hospital and ambulance services to reach faster for emergency. In the Clearview there is no evidence for hospitality services so, it is also not appropriate point to convince retirees to buy houses in Clearview.

In summary, the given argument is not convincing and aforementioned points make weaken the argument. The Clearview can be utopian as the writer want but for it, they must work and provide basic services before promising the benefits.