A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

On the basis of twenty-year study on headaches on resident of Mentia concluded that Salicylates has therapeutic effect on headache. The food-processing companies also found that Salicylate naturally rich in foods and I can be used for preservation of food products as well as it can also use flavor additives for foods. The experts predict that the Salicylate is effective and with its use the headache of Mentia’s residents will fewer in future. There are so many questions would be answered by researcher before jumping to the conclusion.

First of all, the researcher found Salicylate a powerful medicine for headache and it is related to aspirin’s chemical family. In the given argument the author is talking about the positive effects of medicine but what about its side effects? As I had read about side effects of aspirin on memory in different researches so there is a strong possibility that the Salicylate also trace some side effect on body in such a long time period of twenty years. This is one of the weak points of the argument.

Secondly, the food-processing companies already used Salicylate as preservative and now they found that it can be used as flavor in food. There is no sign of over dose of Salicylate in the passage. The food-processing company explained that Salicylate chemical is naturally found in food and it is healthy, but my concern is the artificial sugar saccharin is very harmful for us than how we can rely on artificial form of Salicylate. We all know that the vitamin C present in citric fruits like lemon, orange, mango so on, and it is beneficial for our body but if we take citric acid than our body get harmed. On the basis of such researches we cannot assume that a particular chemical help us to cure.

Thirdly, there are different reasons for headache such as stress, lack of sleep, work load, flew, cough and cold, migraine and so on. For every reason the treatment should be decided. The researcher had not explained about the particular type of headache the Salicylate id beneficial. The data is not enough to close any fruitful result. However the researcher got the positive results on the selected population but we cannot generalize the results without proper information.

Finally, the aforementioned reasons the prediction of the experts is not so reasonable, more data and findings are important to reach on concert results.