Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Competition limits the quality of learning at all levels of education, it is true. Today students do hard work for getting high grades in exams at every level of education despite gaining knowledge. The competition is very hard at every level and students put their total energy for completing exams. At same time students ignore other important things which should be considered such as talent and interest. There are different examples and reasoning which support my side in this issue.

Firstly, Because of competition students bound with the limited syllabus which helps to get excellence at any level of education. From primary school level to final college exams student’s emphasis only on the grades as well as parents also appreciate based on marks obtained. As everyone emphasis on the grades and marks the student feels it's his duty to achieve good grades. Only good or high grades cannot help to gain good job the student must have ability for cracking interviews. So, competition should be healthy which leads to students for them excel not just towards marks.

Secondly, in any field or at any level of education student face entrance exam and only good scorer will selected. These types of competition emphasis on the theoretical knowledge and ignore the practical skills. In India to become engineer students appeared for JEE mains and advance level exams and they studied complete theoretical knowledge of science. The student wants to become engineer has good reasoning skills but lack in exams with few marks than it will be very tough for that student. At same place a student has little aptitude to become engineer but good in theoretical knowledge then he will be selected. On comparing both cases the student must face competition to fulfill dreams. So many students get depressed due to competition and it will decrease the skills of student.

Thirdly, I observed in schools working as a counselor that students read full syllabus and learn it by heart, but they did not try to understand the text books for future. They all work hard to get good marks and grades only which gives them temporary happiness. Today everyone wants a lot of appreciation and students feel that if we get good marks then parents and teacher surely appreciate us. The competition is good when it is healthy and motivate students, but it becomes caustic if it decreases the skills of students.

Finally, since reasons we can conclude that the competition for higher grades bound student's quality of learning at all levels of education. Education should be free from competitions at least up to higher school to build students good learning capacity.