The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council."An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study rep

In the newsletter, the author states that the West Meria Public Health Council recommends to use Ichthaid in daily life so that people can prevent colds and absenteeism decreases. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to question its validity.

First, the author needs to provide more evidence on the causal relationship between fish consumption and colds. He believes that consumption fish causes people to prevent colds; however, there is only general relationship between them. Although the study states people who live in nearby East Meria only see the doctor once or twice per year to treat colds, it does not guarantee that they can prevent colds more easily. Indeed, it is possible that they reluctant to visit the doctors even though they have colds because some people can overcome and treat colds themselves without any help with the doctors. Even if the trend indicates the ability of people eating fish a lot for preventing colds, it cannot be generalized to all cases. He should provide further reports to support and prove the idea.

Second, the more specific evidence is required to support the argument. The author assumes that the daily using of Ichthaid is significantly helpful for people to prevent colds; however, it is not reasonable unless he supplements more evidence. Since the treatment is only a type of nutritional supplement made of fish oil, it may not be enough to consume ingredients from fish itself. The author should provide further evidence on the effectiveness of the innovative treatment. In the statement, there is only limited information about fish consumption, not about the efficiency of the treatment.

Lastly, the author should give more evidence on the cause and effect between colds and absenteeism. He adamantly believes that the less people have colds, the less they are absent in schools and workplace. However, it seems invalid without any trustful research or experiments. Even if people prevent colds by the Icthaid, the number of absences may not be decrease. There are high chances that people do not go to schools and workplace because they are not interested in their works or because they have other illness, but not because they have colds. In this case, he cannot predict that the treatments cause substantial decline of absenteeism. Thus, it is necessary to analyze the relationship between the treatments and absenteeism with more relevant evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument regarding using of Ichthaid to prevent colds and decrese absenteeism is unpersuadable in many aspects. To bolster the argument, he should provide more evidence on credible causal relationship between colds and absenteeism.