133. In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the posit

It is debatable which is the main factor to define a great leader. In this regard, I disagree with the statement that in any field those in power should be required to step down after five years. This is because continuous leadership provides advantages depending on fields.

Admittedly, stepping down after five years, society can preclude leaders' malfeasance in some fields. It is undeniable that leaders can abuse their power when they have the power persistently. Many democratic systems show that power should be monitored by society. Otherwise, the dogmatic leader may be denigrated during history as a whole. For instance, in South Korea, Park Jung-hee is a famous dictatorial leader in the 1960s to 70s. With the restrained presidential power by democratic institutions, he changed the law and infringed into the presidential election to win the election. As he was keeping his power for more than five years, citizens struggled from his authoritarian leadership. In this case, it seems convincing that leaders should step down their power after five years.

However, it is not always true that leaders should delegate their power to others in all fields. By stepping down the power after five years, there might yield negative side effects to some extent. In the field of business, a consistent company's vision and belief are more advantageous and profitable by one leader. Steve Jobs, a former CEO of Apple, is a good example to demonstrate the idea. Apple is well known as one of the innovative American brands. Before Jobs dead, Apple had been developed with one belief of Jobs. However, when another person has been a leader and changed the vision of Apple somewhat differently, the reputation and popularity of Apple are getting declined. In the field of business, stepping down a leader's power is not always reasonable.

Moreover, keeping power by one person would provide more benefits in some fields. Through continuous leadership, society can overcome the crisis and embarrassing situations. In the field of politics, although dictators are harmful to society as a whole, legitimate persistent leadership is useful in a special period. For example, Franklin D. Roosevelt, a former President in the United States, won President elections two times so that he can stay in the power for more than five years. Since he was in the presidency for such a long time, the States can overcome the Great Depression by his consistent plan, called by the New Deal plan. Because he can maintain its power for more than five years, the plan successfully was implemented in the States. Therefore, a leader's power can be projected more than five years and the phenomenon is required in some fields.

To sum up, although leadership might be impaired without any limitation, there are many drawbacks to applying the belief to all fields. It can be beneficial for society to make leaders continue to have their power for more than five years in some fields.