The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given argument appeared in a health magazine which talks about new healthful lifestyle adopted by the citizens of Forsythe. According a survey people adopted government nutritional recommendations in spit of they did ten years ago. Another point is sale of food products containing kiran has increased and sale of sulia decreased. Kiran is a substance in food that reduces cholesterol and it is indicated in a scientific study. The sulia is food which preferred by healthy citizens in regular diet. The argument has different loopholes which make it weaken.

Moreover, the writer talks about two different aspects together and did not mention the relationship between them. Citizens of Forsythe adopted new healthy lifestyle and recent survey indicate eating habit from lifestyle is somehow related to governmental nutritional recommendations. Secondly the sale of kiran and sulia food products. The writer did not mention that the new eating habits contain kiran which helps to stay healthy or sulia was not much beneficial. It is not compulsory that people started eating kiran and it reduces cholesterol which makes citizens healthy. This lack of relation makes the argument questionable.

Furthermore, the citizens have adopted more healthful lifestyle means they adopted healthy eating habits, exercise and yoga, work management, improved wearing, or may they have started spending time with family. There are different habits which collectively makes lifestyle so, the writer talks about only eating habits and there is no evidence which indicate the eating habits change the lifestyle of Forsythe citizens. This is again one of the major loopholes of the given argument.

Finally, the sale of kiran containing products increases shows so many possibilities such as quality of product, advertisement, fear of cholesterol, taste and popularity of the product etc. Similarly, the sale of sulia is reduces also reflects different possibilities such as no scientific proven effects, low quality, less popularity, and so on. The writer has not specified the reason for variances of sale. If we consider for a while that government nutritional recommends ate kiran and that the reason to increase the sale of kiran contained food, but it never indicates that it is the reason for sulia's decreased sale. Because the writer did not mention the comparison of sulia and kiran.

To sum up the discussion, above discussed loopholes makes the argument weak and immaterial. There is lack of evidences which proves relevant relationship among different points explained in the argument.