Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument writer talks about osteoporosis, due to which the bones get to weaken significantly with age. To maintaining bones the vitamin C and calcium-substances are essential. But in the argument the writer discussed about a study which shows that the milk and dairy products has opposite effect on osteoporosis patients. There are flaws in assumptions of writer which fails to conclude the final idea. Therefore, lack of evidence makes the argument weaken.

Moreover, the writer talked about a long-term study to analyze the effect of milk and dairy products on osteoporosis sufferers. In the referred study it is not mentioned the subjects have only osteoporosis or any other disease is also present. Before relying on any study, we should check its reliability and in the given study the writer did not explain about sample of the study which makes it weaken. Similarly, as mentioned in argument the osteoporosis is linked with environmental as well as with genetic factors which clearly shows that genetic problems take time to mitigate. It may possible that most patient in the study sample have genetic disorder so that fractured their bones. So, it may plausible that reason for most fractures is not milk and dairy products and these products good for osteoporosis patient.

Furthermore, milk and dairy products have different qualities due to different companies. In given long-term study it is also not sure whether the quality of milk and dairy products is good or not so good. For example, in India there are different companies which sell milk and dairy products and every product have different level of calcium and protein level. The writer did not say anything about the product which makes weak argument which brings to topic of discussion. When someone drinks good quality milk for at least more than six months then the calcium level definitely raised. And the researcher did not mention calcium level in both pre and post state of research.

Additionally, it may plausible that the patient’s calcium raised but some of them get fracture due to accident. The fracture is one of the symptoms of osteoporosis and at the same time we can understand that it may cause due an accident. The writer talked about only milk and dairy products whereas we all know the sun rays is rich source of vitamin D. Vitamin D helps in synthesis of calcium and makes our bones stronger. So, the writer conclude that the milk and dairy products increases the risk of osteoporosis rather than help to decrease it absolutely fallacious without strong evidences.

On the basis of above discussion, the argument needs to be revise before jumping to conclusion that the milk and dairy products increases the osteoporosis. Argument needs evidences and strong researches to prove their point.