Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Sports are equally important as studies and universities spend so much money on sports also but it is less than money gives to libraries. I agree with the distribution of money because of several reasons. There are the following reasons explained in the following paragraphs.

First, the library is a place which is used by most of the students and faculties. To buy a new book is too expensive for every student or for a few topics, buying a new book is sometimes not worth so libraries are important. The library provides great help to students as well as faculties. In sports every student of university does not participate so we can see sports as one department of university whereas the library is open for all even sport people also access the library for literary material.

Second, the books, magazines, newspapers, journals and other printing material cost high and every year it is updated with new knowledge. Nowadays the internet is also becoming part of libraries and it is also high valued. To provide such facilities to all students requires enough budget in hand and this is one of the reasons universities should spend more money on libraries.

Third, as we discussed in the first reason, sport is only one unit of the whole body with its specific dimensions which caters to a small population in comparison to libraries. The sports activities require an optimum level of money because it is important but it should equal a library is not appropriate according to me. In my university management staff spend a large portion of the budget on libraries and as per requirement spent on sports and other departments.

Finally, the budget depends on requirements and universities should spend money on the basis of need but libraries should be on top priority. On the basis of the above discussion universities should give money to sports as it requires but libraries should get more money.