Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some people believe that universities must give the same amount of money to students’ sport activities as they give to their university libraries, while others do not agree with the statemt. For me, I totally disagree with the statement. I maintain that universities should disburse more money to libraries instead of sports activities, and my reasons are as follows.

To begin with, universities should place an emphasis on students’ convenience. That is, if they gives more money to libraries, students can feel more convenient. To elaborate, if the university spends more money building new libraries, this means that students can have access to more books and articles. In addition, if the university decides to put new printers and computers in the library, students can use these hardware resources in the library to find books or copy pages. As a result, students will feel extremely convenient when they are looking for information and books in the library. However, if the university spend money on students’ sports events, it might make students spend a lot of time and effort helping it to prepare sports events, and most students find these tasks extremely inconvenient.

In addition, universities should care about their reputation, and spending more money on libraries can help them procure a better image. For instance, National Taiwan University allocated 8% of its total budget to decorate its library, so students have a comfortable surroundings to enjoy reading books and articles. Besides, most citizens who visit the library agree that National Taiwan University put a lot of effort into providing students with cozy studying environments. As a result, most residents hold positive views about National Taiwan University’s library policy. Contrarily, my cousin’s university, Hua-Xia Technological University, spent 500 million NT dollars on both its school library as well as a tennis competition, but most Hua-Xia Technological University students complained that there wasn’t a single functioning printer in the library, and the operating systems installed in the library’s computers were Windows XP, which was outmoded for ten years. As a result, most students hold a negative attitude toward their own university, because they insisted that if Hua-Xia University had abundant wherewithal to spend on sports events, why couldn’t that money be used to upgrade hardware facilities in the library? As we can see, spending the equivalent amount of money on students’ sport events and libraries might make a school procure an unfavorable image.

In conclusion, I maintain that the university should give more money to libraries instead of sport activities, considering the fact that school should emphasize on students’ convenience. Besides, a university can obtain a more positive reputation by not spending too much money on students’ sport events.