Imagine that you are considering taking action to improve your performance in order to get better grades (marks) school or to get a promotion and higher pay at work. You are considering the following two actions. --Doing additional work or extra assignments beyond what is required --Participating more actively and contributing your own ideas more frequently in group discussions Which ONE of these two actions do you think would be MORE helpful for improving your performance? Why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Some people think that in order to improve performance, one must do additional work or extra assignments beyond what is required. Others claim that participating more actively and contributing more ideas in a group is a better option. For me, I believe that actively participating in group discussions can greatly enhance productivity. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, for students to ace their study performance, they must increase their learning efficiency. Conspicuously, actively discussing things in the group can help students boost their learning efficiency. For example, I once took a course called Introduction to Computer Security, and my professor required me and my teammates to penetrate a relatively secure. The leader of the group required us to discuss our attacking strategies every weekend. Whenever someone had a brilliant idea about how to exploit the server, the leader would require us to write scripts and test it immediately. Eventually, we successfully attacked and gained full access to the server in less than five days. On the other hand, my sister tried to improve her programming skills by self-assigning difficult, unfathomable algorithms problems on Codeforce, which is a competitive programming website. Yet, problems in that website were so difficult that she often needed to spend five days solving a single problem. As a result, her programming skill did not improve significantly.

Last but not least, employees must acquire new knowledge to enhance their performance, and actively discussing things in a group can help workers gain more new knowledge. Take me as an example. I currently worked in a technology company called TIC, and he was one of the members of the Machine Learning Design Team in TIC. My boss required all members of my team to discuss state-of-the-art deep learning models every Thursday. What’s more, my supervisors constantly asked me to submit fascinating ideas about feature engineering after reading newly-published papers. Eventually, I could learn a great amount of machine learning models techniques and ideas every month. On the contrary, my sister also worked as a machine learning engineer, but she often assigned herself hard-to-build models to increase her models’ precision rate. Nonetheless, each of these difficult-to-build models requires more than two weeks of training and parameter tweaking. In other words, my sister’s learning pace became sluggish. Eventually, she did not learn as much new knowledge every month compared to me.

In conclusion, I maintain that partaking in group activities and constantly providing contributions is the most ideal way of improving one’s productivity considering the aforementioned reasons. Of course, doing additional work or assignments can boost one’s performance, too. Nevertheless, I believe that discussing topics and proposing ideas in a group is more helpful.