Sometimes people wish to be more confident, for example, they may want to express their opinions more frequently in meetings at work, or they may want to contribute more to class discussions at school. Which ONE of the following actions do you think would best help to increase confidence in these types of work or school situations? Why?

- Spending more time preparing for class discussions at school or meetings

at work

- Learning about and practicing techniques to help you become more

confident

- Finding a more experienced person who can give advice about how to handle

these situations

Some people think that spending more time preparing for class discussions at school or meetings at work is the best method to increase confidence. Others claim that learning and practicing new techniques is preferable. Still others maintain that finding a more experienced person who can give advice is the most ideal approach. Personally, I would choose the second option. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, in order to maximize confidence at school, people must have enough knowledge and skills to discuss with their classmates, and learning new techniques can undoubtedly help people increase their knowledge and become more confident. For example, I was frequently required to take part in group discussions in a data structure and algorithms class. Nevertheless, I was not knowledgeable in algorithms before taking the lecture, so I learned and practiced several beginner-level competitive programming problems diligently to sharpen my algorithm skills. Several weeks later, I could understand 90% of the lecture in the class, and I had enough skills to contribute algorithmic ideas through class discussions confidently. On the other hand, I once asked my senior classmates how to deal with such a situation, but they all recommended me to practice public speaking instead. However, while their suggestions are partially true, according to my experience, such a skill did not help me perform better during the discussion because the proprietary nouns used in the class prevented me from understanding the lecture, resulting in less confidence.

In addition, people often encounter different situations in their office. Therefore, spending more time practicing some specific techniques can increase people's confidence. As an example, I was once required to participare in a machine learning group metting. Yet, I often stuttered when talking with others publicly, so I spent more than three hours per day memorizing my speech. Unfortunately, my supervisor decided to change the topic to "reinforcement learning model" ten minutes before the meeting. Consequently, the lines that I memorized a week ago become useless, I still stuttered a lot in the meeting. Contrarily, my brother worked in an IT company, and his boss frequently required him to conduct a short report on customers' behavior on the company's website every week. As a result, he practiced his public speaking skills every day, so when his boss decided to switch topics, he could still present his reports smoothly. Evidently, improving skills is the best way to deal with all sorts of situations and become more confident.

In conclusion, I maintain that learning or practicing techniques is the most ideal way to enhance people's confidence due to the aforementioned reasons. After all, people must build knowledge and learn how to tackle unpredictable situations to become confident.