Sometimes people wish to be more confident, for example, they may want to express their opinions more frequently in meetings at work, or they may want to contribute more to class discussions at school. Which ONE of the following actions do you think would best help to increase confidence in these types of work or school situations? Why?

- Spending more time preparing for class discussions at school or meetings

at work

- Learning about and practicing techniques to help you become more

confident

- Finding a more experienced person who can give advice about how to handle

these situations

Some people think that spending more time preparing for class discussions at school or meetings at work is the best method to increase confidence. Others claim that learning and practicing new techniques is preferable. Still others maintain that finding a more experienced person who can give advice is the most ideal approach. Personally, I would choose the second option. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, in order to maximize confidence at school, people must have enough knowledge and skills to discuss with their classmates, and learning new techniques can undoubtedly help people increase their knowledge and become more confident. For example, I was frequently required to take part in group discussions in a data structure and algorithms class. Nevertheless, I was not knowledgeable in algorithms before taking the lecture, so I learned and practiced several beginner-level competitive programming problems diligently to sharpen my algorithm skills. Several weeks later, I could understand 90% of the lecture in the class, and I had enough skills to contribute algorithmic ideas through class discussions confidently. On the other hand, I once asked my senior classmates how to deal with such a situation, but they did not know my situation well. That is, they thought that I already had adequate amount of knowledge in algorithms, so they recommended me to enhance my speaking skills. After adopting their advice, I figured out that I would still face problems and become less confident if I did not work harder learning algorithm proprietary nouns and concepts.

In addition, people often encounter different situations in their office. Therefore, spending more time practicing some specific techniques can increase people's confidence. As an example, I was once required to participare in a machine learning group metting. Yet, I often stuttered when talking with others publicly, so I spent more than three hours per day memorizing my speech. Unfortunately, my supervisor decided to change the topic to "reinforcement learning model" ten minutes before the meeting. Consequently, the lines that I memorized a week ago become useless; I still stuttered a lot in the meeting. Ever since then, I decided to practice my public speaking skills every day. Several weeks later, when my boss decided to switch meeting topics again, I could still present his reports smoothly because my public speaking skills helped me deal with all sorts of situations. Evidently, improving skills is a more favorable approach to deal with different situations and become more confident.

In conclusion, I maintain that learning or practicing techniques is the most ideal way to enhance people's confidence due to the aforementioned reasons. After all, people must build knowledge and learn how to tackle unpredictable situations to become confident.