Which of the following resources is most effective for employers to know about applicants for a position?

1. contact the applicant's former employer

2. check the applicant's online profile and social platform

3. provide internship for a month

Some people believe that contacting the applicant's former employer is the most effective resource for employers to understand applicants. Others claim that checking the candidate's online profile is a better method. Still, others maintain that providing an internship for a month is more favorable. As far as I am concerned, the third option is the most ideal approach. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, to effectively understand a candidate, employers must have a thorough understanding of an applicant's skill. And apparently, providing an internship for a month can help employers decide whether an applicant is suitable for the job effectively. For example, when I was applying for a job in an IT company called AIdea, my supervisor required me to participate in a twenty-days internship. My boss spent more than two weeks observing me solving an algorithm puzzle, managing some Linux operating systems, etc. Eventually, since these interviewers spoke to the candidates in person, they could fully understand who had adequate computer and programming knowledge and skills to deal with advanced coding problems. On the other hand, exaggerating one's skills on Facebook or Linkedin is exceptionally effortless; all they need to do is write a few lines of fake experience on their resume. So evidently, examining one's profile cannot help interviewers know thoroughly about a candidate's competence.

In addition, to effectively understand whether a job seeker is suitable for a position, employers must have a comprehensive understanding of that person's personality. And conspicuously, requiring people to join an internship for a few months can help employers achieve such a goal. Take AIdea again as an example. My boss required me to participate in a group programming project during the internship for 15 days. During that time, the interviewers could observe whether we irresponsibly push our missions to other teams, did we procrastinate, etc. Since the interviewers had the opportunity to keep an eye on the candidates directly, they could choose to hire responsible and diligent workers. Contrarily, former employers usually calumniate former employees out of revenge. Accordingly, asking former supervisors might make interviewers receive biased views about a candidate's characteristics.

In conclusion, I maintain that the third approach is the most effective way for interviewers to know about applicants for a position due to the aforementioned reasons.