Some high school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

What kind of approach is more effective for high school students' learning arouses a heated debate among teachers. Some teachers think that spending more time lecturing is a better approach, while others believe that allowing students to discuss and exchange ideas actively in class is a more favorable solution. Personally, I believe that the second method is a more effective way for students to learn. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, to accelerate high school students' learning effectiveness, students must be extremely attentive during the class, and apparently, encouraging students to discuss, debate, and exchange ideas helps students become attentive. For instance, my high school math teacher allowed us to propose different solutions to the same math problem. To be more specific, if the teacher gave us an algebra question, some of my classmates might use a geometric approach to tackle the problem, while other gifted students may use college calculus or even linear algebra to solve it. Regardless, students became extremely attentive in the class because they always wanted to come up with more concise yet insightful solutions. In other words, active thinking and idea exchanging stimulated high school students to concentrate and think more. On the other hand, if my high school teacher only let us stare at the blackboard and copy equations to our notebooks mechanically, students would undoubtedly space out easily and become inattentive. Evidently, promoting class discussion improves students' learning productivity.

In addition, encouraging students to do projects and exchange ideas is an ideal way for high school students to enhance efficiency. This is because high school students have a lot of subjects to study, and letting them discuss projects helps students become exceptionally efficient and effective in their studies. As an example, when I have some doubts about certain topics, I usually raise the question and ask my teachers directly in class. This way, I can usually have my questions answered in less than 5 minutes. Also, my high school history teacher once asked us to do a small project on aboriginal Taiwanese, and whenever I got confused about different aboriginal cultures or languages, my teammates could correct me instantly. Consequently, I only spent a little time studying this subject because I already acquired abundant historical knowledge by directly interacting with my lecturer and classmates. Contrarily, my brother's high school history teacher only required students to concentrate fully during the lecture. However, whenever my brother had some questions, he did not have the opportunity to discuss them with others, so he could only search for the answer online or in textbooks, and this usually took him more than one hour to do so. As a result, his study efficiency was terrible, and he was constantly overwhelmed by his schoolwork.

In conclusion, I maintain that the second approach is a better way to enhance students' learning effectiveness due to the aforementioned reasons. That is not to say, however, that spending more time speaking is not a good way. Nevertheless, I still believe that my reasons are more persuasive and reasonable.