Some high school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

What kind of approach is more effective for high school students' learning arouses a heated debate among teachers. Some teachers think that spending more time lecturing is a better approach, while others believe that allowing students to discuss and exchange ideas actively in class is a more favorable solution. Personally, I believe that the second method is a more effective way for students' learning. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, high school students generally lack the motivation to learn, so they often become absent-minded during the lecture. Therefore, inspiring students to exchange ideas can help them concentrate and boost their learning effectiveness. For instance, my high school math teacher allowed us to propose different solutions to the same math problem. To be more specific, if the teacher gave us an algebra question, some gifted students may use college calculus or even linear algebra to solve it. Hence, students became extremely attentive in the class because they always wanted to come up with more concise and insightful solutions to awe everyone. On the other hand, if my high school teacher only let us stare at the blackboard and copy equations to our notebooks mechanically, students would undoubtedly space out easily and become inattentive. Evidently, active thinking and idea exchanging stimulate high school students to concentrate and increase their study productivity.

In addition, high school students learn better when their doubts can be answered immediately during the lecture. If the instructor encourages students to discuss their questions together, students could have lots of opportunities to express their doubts and have their questions answered immediately. Overall, this helps increase students' study efficiency. As an example, my history teacher frequently asked students to participate in group discussions. That is, whenever I got confused about different aboriginal cultures or languages, my teammates or my instructor could correct me instantly. Thus I acquired considerable historical knowledge just by directly interacting with my lecturer and classmates. Contrarily, my brother's high school history teacher only required students to concentrate fully during the lecture. Whenever my brother had some questions, he did not have the opportunity to discuss them with others, so he could only search for the answer online or in textbooks. This usually took him more than one hour, and as a result, he is not particularly effective in his study.

In conclusion, I maintain that the second approach is a better way to enhance students' learning effectiveness due to the aforementioned reasons. That is not to say, however, that spending more time speaking is not a good way. Nevertheless, I still believe that my reasons are more persuasive and reasonable.