Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Although science and technology will continue to advance and improve people's lives, the most significant improvements in the quality of people's lives have already taken place. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the ever-lasting improvement of technology and science, whether the most conspicuous enhancements in people's quality of life have already happened arouse a heated debate. Some agrees with the statement, but for me, I believe that the statement is true. I don't believe that science and technology will advance people's lives, and I agree that some conspicuous improvements have already taken place due to other factors. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, one of the most important advancements in human being's quality of life is human rights, but science does not contribute that much to the human rights compared to humanitarian organizations. For instance, my roommate came from Sierra-Leone, and he was one of the survivors of massive human-trafficking in Libya. He was rescued by the Red Cross organization on a bus in the Sahhara Desert. In other words, it is the contribution of NGO volunteers that helped him escape the desert and establish a brand-new life in France. However, according to contemporary history, the two infamous atomic bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki were the direct bloodchild of several physics research. In addition, a hundred years ago, scientists often did human experiment on war captives, which leaded to the death of millions of innocent people. Thus, human right can only be achieved though humantarian organizations, and science might ironically become the cause of human right crisis.

Digital security contributes to another crucial improvement in people's life quality, but the science and technology cannot achieve security. On the contrary, it is the altruistic intelligent people, not the technology itself, that contribute to the information security of modern world. As an example, when my parents were young, the World Wide Web is not invented yet. Citizens manage their assets directly through a trustworthy central bank. Nonetheless, the development of the web technology results in digitalization of nearly everything, including but not limited to our daily-life monetary system. However, the development of technology often fail to incorpate researches related to security. We have constantly seen citizens' bank account being cracked due to flaws in the design of digital banking systems. Yet, thanks to the unselfish contribution of white-hack hackers who are willing to devote their personal time in reviewing open source programs, several vulnerabilities were spotted and fixed before being exploited by criminals. Nowadays, the world wide web becomes secure again, and this is all because of the dedication and commitment of smart and warm-hearted contributors as opposed to technology.

To sum up, I believe that the most significant improvements that enhance people's life quality have already been taken place due to the aforementioned reasons. After all, contemporary human rights and digital security cannot be accomplished through the rapid development of science and technology.