Some charitable organizations (groups that help people in need) allow people who give money to charity to choose how their donations will be used. (For example, people can decide whether their donated money is spent directly on goods and services for people in need or on advertising by the charity.) If you were to give money to charity, would you prefer to choose how your donation is going to be used, or do you think it is more effective to leave that decision to the organization? Why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples

Some people prefer giving money to the charity and letting the organization decide how the money should be spent, while others claim that having the right to choose how the donation is going to be used is better. For me, I prefer to choose how my money is going to be utilized. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, whenever I gave away resources to charity, I always want to make sure that charity is doing their work efficiently. Thus, if I was granted the option to determine where my donation should be spent, I could make sure that the charity is doing their job efficiently. This might sound unintuitive, but my own experience can testify to this. I once gave away three million dollars to an NGO to help Ukrainian citizens overcome Russian soldiers. I insisted that my money should be spent on daily necessities, such as fresh food and clean water, instead of weapons. In less than two days, the NGO told me that my resources are successfully sent to the warzone. Perhaps it’s because my demand made the NGO realize my enthusiasm, and they did not want my donation to be procrastinated. On the other hand, my friend, Todd, also donated 3 million dollars to Somalia, but he let the NGO decide where to use that money. Eventually, the NGO used his donation to purchase weapons. Unfortunately, the NGO told my brother that weapon manufacturing is delayed due to the global chip shortage. It was not until the war ended that my brother’s donation arrived in Somalia. So eventually, his donation did not practically help Somalian citizens. Hence, according to my experience, having the choice to decide how the donated resources can aid charities in boosting their working efficiency.

In addition, when I donate some money to charity, I always want to make sure that my money was spent on intended places. Yet, letting charities decide where the donation should be spent cannot help me accomplish the goal. For example, my brother once donated 500000 dollars to the Zanthu Organization in Hualien. Nevertheless, he let the organization determine where his money will be spent. Three weeks later, some journalists reported that Zanthu Organization used 95% of citizens’ donations on investing in real estate and cryptocurrencies. Consequently, my brother was furious that the organization did not use the money in the right places. On the other hand, I once donated 5% of my income as well as some appliances to the Tsiji charity group. I told the chairman of Tsiji that my money should be spent on schizophrenia patients, and the charity accepted my request. Several months later, the charity sent me a receipt which proved to me that my money is properly spent on mental health hospitals, and my second-handed appliances were indeed sent to schizophrenia patients. Indeed, having the right to decide where my donation will eventually go can help me ensure that my money is spent on intended places.

To conclude, I maintain that having the decision to determine where my donation will be spent is a more favorable option considering the aforementioned reasons. That is not to say, of course, that leaving the decision to charity is not appropriate. Nonetheless, I believe that my views are more persuasive and reasonable.