The government can take a variety of actions to help protect the environment. Which of the following do you think is the most important one that a government should take to protect the environment:

1 Fund the research to develop environmentally friendly energy sources such as solar and wind energy.

2 Preserve the natural places like forests and protect the animals that live there.

3 Enforce laws to prevent the pollution of air and water caused by large companies.

Some people think that funding researches to develop environmentally friendly energy sources is the most ideal way to help protect the environment. Others claim that preserving natural places and animals that live there is better. Sill, others maintain that enforcing laws to prevent the air and water pollution caused by large corporations is a more favorable approach. As far as I am concerned, I believe that

To begin with, governments usually care about efficiency, and enforcing laws to prevent the pollution of air and water can help governments become more efficient in terms of preserving the environment. Take the Taipei City government as an example. Five years ago, the Taipei City government enacted decrees that imposed exceptionally strict fines on several chemistry factories which dumped waste chemicals into rivers in Taipei. Similarly, the government taxed car factories every month for emitting waste gases. Consequently, corporations were always afraid of losing too much money, so they decided to revise the technology and reduce the amount of waste gas and chemicals produced. In only two months, the air quality improved significantly, and most rivers in Taipei became clean and clear again due to the reduced number of toxic chemicals. On the other hand, the Chiayi County government planned to preserve the Alishan National Park by planting native trees and introducing native species to the region. Nevertheless, it took the animals and plants more than 15 years to grow, so the environment is not significantly improved after the plan is implemented. Evidently, preserving natural resources is not an efficient approach to protecting the environment.

In addition, governments are exceptionally concerned about saving budgets. Nevertheless, funding research might make the government spend too much money. For example, the Taichung City government spent more than 500 million dollars annually assisting National Chong-Yang University in conducting solar energy research. What's more, the government disbursed a hundred million dollars per month for hiring prestigious researchers and professors in Taiwan. Eventually, nearly 20% of the total budgets were spent on the research. Contrarily, the Kaohsiung City government decided to tax electrical engineering corporations that emitted too much carbon dioxides and methanes. Therefore, all the government needed to do is let lawmakers agree on how much money should be imposed. Also, the government only allocated 1 million dollars asking ecology experts and economy researchers to debate how the details of such a regulation. Consequently, the government only allocated 0.1% of its total wherewithal to implement the regulation. Apparently, enforcing laws and regulations is a more preferable approach because it prevents the government from wasting too many resources.

In conclusion, I maintain that the government should enforce laws to prevent pollutions caused by large corporations due to the aforementioned reasons. After all, the government usually place an emphasis on its efficiency as well as saving budgets.