Which one do you think is the most important factor for a student to succeed in college:

1 Having access to university tutors who can provide one-to-one instruction for students with difficulties in college study

2 The help and encouragement from the family and friends

3 Excellent teachers in high school who can help students before they go to college

Some people think that having access to university tutors who can provide one-to-one instructions for students is the most important factor for a students to succeed in college. Others claim that obtaining some help and encouragement from the family and friends is a more ideal approach. Still, others maintain that having excellent teachers in high school who can help students before they go to college is better. As far as I am concerned, I believe that

To begin with, ensuring that students have strong motivation to learn is a judicious method to help students succeed in college, and getting help and encouragement from family and friends can undoubtedly encourage students to learn. For instance, when I was studying in my university, I felt depressed all the time learning math subjects that I dislike, including calculus, linear algebra, and computer programming. Thus, I reached out to my friends for some encouragement, and they all comforted me by stating that a plethora of famous successful person, such as Steve Jobs or Bill Gates, did not perform well in college. After talking with my friends, I procured enough motivation to study more diligently. In the end, I still successfully graduated from my college despite the fact that my scores were not perfect. Contrarily, according to my experience, most excellent high school teachers were diabolically strict. Hence, even though I gained useful math in high school from these teachers, the lack of motivation in learning college-level mathematics prevents me from becoming successful in college.

Furthermore, having a healthy relationship with professors is another key factor for a student to succeed in college, so encouragement from the family and friends can definitely help students to develop a steadier relationship with others. Take me again as an example. When I was studying in college, I often faced difficulties communicating with my professors due to my introverted personality. Therefore, I asked my parents for help, and they all encourage me to become more extroverted by teaching me communication skills, practicing public speaking without feeling too nervous, etc. As a result, I gained lots of confidence from my parents, and I was able to strengthen my relationship with my friends and professors due to the improvement in my communication skills. Contrarily, I once asked a university tutor how to enhance my relationship with my professor. Nevertheless, the tutor did not realize my introverted personality, so he recommended I study harder and focus more on my research. After I adopted his suggestions, I figured out that even though I became more knowledgeable in my fields, my lack of proper communication skills still hindered me from talking with my professors successfully.

In conclusion, I maintain that the most important factor for pupils to become successful is obtaining help and encouragement from family and friends, considering the aforementioned reasons.