In time of financial crisis, which of the following group of people should be firstly supported by the government.

-family with young children

-people who lost jobs recently

-retired people aged over 70

Different people hold different perspectives about who the government should support during an economic crisis. Some people maintain that aiding families with young children is better. Others believe that helping unemployed people is a more preferable method. Still, others claim that providing supports to retired people is better. As far as I am concerned, I believe that supporting the second group of people is the most ideal approach. My reasons are as follows.

Furthermore, the government must save money during the economic depression. Nevertheless, allocating too many budgets to young family members might make the government expend too much money. For example, the Kaohsiung City government decided to help families with young children get a decent education during the crisis. Nevertheless, lecturing a young student required a significant number of resources; the government allocated a billion dollars to hire elementary and preschool teachers, purchase suitable lands to establish new elementary schools, etc. Moreover, the city disbursed more than 4 billion dollars providing tuition to families. As a result, such policies caused a noticeable financial burden to the Kaohsiung City government. Contrarily, the Taichung City government offered assisted people who became unemployed in getting a decent job, and it only spent ten million dollars organizing several job fairs. In addition, the city only disbursed fifty million dollars to establish an employment website for job seekers to find a career. So evidently, governments usually won't waste too many resources battling the unemployment rate.

To begin with, the government should try its best to restore the economy during an economic crisis, and helping people who lost their jobs recently find a job can boost the economy. Take the Taipei City government as an example. A year ago, the government established three job fairs for young people to find a job during the Covid-19 outbreak. After such an event is held, approximately 60% of unemployed people found a suitable job, such as restaurant waiters and factory workers, to sustain their lives, leading to the unemployment rate in Taipei City decreasing from 7% to only 2%. As a result, Taipei City's economy started functioning again thanks to the increasing number of people working in restaurants and manufacturing. On the other hand, the Hualien County government supported old retired people by supplying old age allowances and elderly subsidies during the crisis. Unfortunately, these retired people were too old to be capable of working, so such a policy did not help Hualien City Improve its unempl