Some high school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

Whether high school teachers should encourage students to discuss projects together or take more notes arouses a heated debate. While there are pros and cons on each sides, I believe that spending most of the class time on discussing projects and exchanging ideas is a better approach. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, the critical thinking ability increases high school students' learning effectiveness. Once high school students gain the ability to make their own opinion, they can learn from different perspectives and become more insightful, intelligent, and effective. For instance, my high school social science teacher encouraged everyone to discuss important issues during the class. To be more specific, the teacher required students to think about the legality of the death penalty, whether capital punishments are justified, etc. In addition, the teacher let students do several projects about death penalties in different countries and contemplate on the pros and cons of the punishment systems throughout the world. Even though different people had different perspectives about this issue, the active discussion helped students think more critically about this topic. As a result, when students were writing essays about similar topics, they can usually finish them in a rather short period, and the reasoning in their essays was usually persuasive. On the contrary, if students only listen to teachers talking about the good and bad of death penalties, they might fail to draw their conclusion. In the future, they might be unproductive in writing opinion articles because they lost their ability to think critically

In addition, being attentive during the class can undoubtedly help students become more effective in their study, and apparently, letting students spend more time on discussion and projects help them concentrate more on the class. As an example, my high school math teacher allows us to propose different solutions on the same math question. Some people might use a combination of geometry and trignometry to address an algebra question, others might choose to use advanced mathematics to deal with it. In any cases, most people were fascinated about the unexpected solutions to the same problem, and students become exceptionally concentrated during the class because they always want to come up with more precise and insightful solutions. On the contrary, making students spend most of their time staring at the equations on the blackboard and taking notes constantly will not help them focus at all, since students are averse to boredom. In the long run, students might become unproductive and inefficient whenever they need to do use math in real life.

In conclusion, I maintain that spending more time exchanging ideas and discussing topics is a more favorable option to enhance students' effectiveness. After all, critical thinking ability and helping students focus on the lecture are both essential for students to become productive.