At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus such as how many hours the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make these decisions, and students are almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why?

Whether students should participate in deciding school policies arouses a heated debate. Some people claim that university should hire experts to make vital decisions, while others disagree. As far as I am concerned, I believe that students should actively be involved in college-related issues. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, students care about their rights, and deciding school issues can prevent their rights from being infringed. For instance, when I was studying at university, my school initially required every student to wear uniforms to school. Nevertheless, a considerable number of people, including me, thought that such a policy restricted students' rights of expression. Hence, we actively lobbied my college to abolish such a regulation. Several weeks later, the principal of the students' council agreed and abrogate it, and students finally gained permission to wear their favorite clothes and dresses on campus. On the other hand, experts are usually exceptionally conservative, so from time to time, the policies enacted might not be compatible with modern worldviews. Furthermore, if experts were responsible for school decisions, students might not have the gateway to express their disagreement once their rights were violated.

In addition, students are exceptionally concerned about their abilities, and participating in school decisions can improve different aspects of their abilities. Take my brother's university as an example. My brother's university allowed every student to decide on several essential university-related topics, such as enhancing the food quality in canteens, improving library facilities, etc. Hence, students on both sides frequently participated in debates, and these debates helped students sharpen their public speaking skills and critical thinking abilities. Contrarily, if experts made all school decisions, students would not enjoy opportunities to debate with others. Consequently, they might miss plenty of chances to strengthen their thinking skills and language abilities. Evidently, partaking in determining school policies can help students enhance their abilities.

To conclude, I maintain that students should be actively involved in making decisions about college issues considering the aforementioned arguments. After all, students are extraordinarily concerned about their basic rights as well as their general abilities.