At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus such as how many hours the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some un

Arrangements in universities such as how many hours that the libraries should be open or what kind of food should be served in the cafeteria affect students' academic lives as well as their living standards on campus. Some people argue that students should not be involved in making such decisions. On the contrary, experts ought to be hired for the job exclusively. Nevertheless, from my perspective, universities should take opinions from students seriously and allow them to participate in the decision-making process.

On the one hand, contributing to the policy on the campus, students will be more satisfied with their school lives, which will deepen their devotion toward their universities in the meantime. As students own the right to adjust the arrangements, their specific needs are more likely to be met. For instance, when finals are approaching, libraries are often full, with too many students look for places to review their study materials. Under this circumstance, if students can express their needs and universities act accordingly, it would be much easier for students to succeed in their exams.

On the other hand, the services provided by schools will be more efficient if students could access to the decision-making process. If rules are designed based on students' needs, fewer resources would be wasted on services that are not attractive to students. For example, if the food sold in the cafeteria are popular among students, the revenues will be high, and less food will be thrown away because of spoiling. Only when the policymakers take the voice of students seriously could they succeed in making decisions.

Admittedly, asking students to make decisions tend to cost extra time and energy for both students and universities, since opinions need to be collected and analyzed. However, the pay-off for such conducts will bypass the costs generated from gathering information. For instance, a simple questionnaire will help universities make course arrangement according to students' intentions for taking different courses. Otherwise, it would cost schools a significant amount of money if many classes are signed up by only a few students.

In summary, it is wise to allow students to play a role in making decisions about issues that affect the daily life of everyone on campus because that students will live a smoother experience, that the policy will be more efficient, and that the benefits of allowing students to participate well exceed the costs.