Your teacher assigns a project to you and you can select the members to work with 1 choose the members who think and work in similar ways 2 choose the members who have totally different ideas Which would you think is more effective to work with

It is tempting to think that finishing a project with members who have different ideas could rise the diversity of the team, leading to a better result of the team assignment. Nevertheless, from my perspective, working with people who share similar opinions is a more effective way to achieve success.

On the one hand, teaming up with classmates of a similar kind will reduce the cost of communication, which results from disagreements among team members. People who share the same character with each other are more likely to reach into an agreement quicker and easier since they share similar logical patterns. On the contrary, it is difficult for the whole group of students to agree with each other, which not only could cause conflicts among members but also waste a significant amount of time for each student during the process of negotiation. My roommate, for instance, once teamed up with her classmate to deliver a presentation in Marketing class. Unfortunately, she and her team member shared an entirely different value and interest. My roommate wanted to force on the finance industry and to make her PowerPoint look more professional. However, her classmate's only attention was video games, and he insisted on making their presentation more entertain and enjoyable. Eventually, their cooperation went to a dad end. They had to do their whole work again separately a few days before the deadline.

On the other hand, it is almost impossible to find a perfect time of meeting for every team member if they have different thoughts. The same kind of students is likely to have an identical lifestyle as well. It is not surprising, for example, that hard-working students usually get up early and typically do not stay up late. Nonetheless, people who enjoy night clubs and bars could not regulate themselves as strictly as other students. Taken my own experience as an example, I initially work with six people in my Business Communication class to finish homework. Some people were eager to finish it sooner while others did not want to start it until the deadline. Hard as we tried, we could only not find a proper time for everyone, and our homework was finished in a hurry.

Admittedly, having a bunch of people who have different ideas could bring the team with fresh thoughts and unique insights of solving problems. Nevertheless, relatively simple schoolwork assigned by teachers, such as a presentation for English class or a Math question, is unlikely to be so complicated that so many different views and creativity are needed.

In summary, no doubt working with people of similar mind is a more efficient method to finish a task because same people usually are more comfortable to communicate and that it will be less exhausting to arrange a suitable time for meeting for each team member.