Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that is is more important for the government to improve the Internet access, while others think that it should spend more effort updating public transportation. Based on my personal experience, I think that updating the Internet access is a better option for governors to consider due to the three reasons mentioned below.

First, the government should save money whenever possible, and upgrading the country's internet condition can make people save a lot of money. Take the city where I live, Taipei, as an example. The mayor of Taipei City spent only $10,000 upgrading its city's network infrastructure to make sure that every citizen in Taipei City can have free access to the Internet. Moreover, they also allocated less than $100,000 dollars hiring engineers to maintain the steadiness of the network system. Nonetheless, the governments of Hualien County wasted more than $1,000,000 on its railway stations, and only few people is using them. Additionally, they also disbursed more than a thousand million dollar planning to revive its highway system by abolishing all highways and establishing new ones. Consequently, it is clear than updating public transportation is more costly than updating the Internet access.

Secondly, the government generally place an emphasis on its reputation, and providing state-of-the-art internet infrastructure to the public can help it earn a good image. For example, politicians from Kaohsiung City decided to enhanced its network stability by establishing 1000 more APs on different areas. Moreover, they invited several computer science professors and researchers from various universities and institutions to design an artificial-intelligence based internet routing system. Consequently, the network condition of Kaohsiung City becomes much better that the past, and citizens all agree upon their government's policy. Nevertheless, the government of Miaoli County spend a significant amount of money on public transportation. Unfortunately, only a few people use those facilities. As a result, the government received an extremely notorious reputation for wasting money on facilities that their citizen do not use regularly. Hence, it is clear that providing internet access to people can help the government gain a positive image.

Last but not least, a stable internet access can better guarantee citizen's safety. For instance, suppose a citizen passed out when he was hiking on a remote mountain, and the region provided people a steady internet for them to use. Then, this his partner can call 911 or the rescue team instantly after the accident happened. Similarly, if a man found out that his house is on fire, and his family was still in the house. Then, he could use his cellphone to text his family and told them to escape the house before the fire went out of control. In short, a convenient network access can guarantee people's safety. However, if no internet is presented in that region, people who run into unfortunate accidents cannot reach out to their families or the rescue team in time, and in the worst case, they might lose their life.

In conclusion, I maintain that the government should allocate more budget on providing a steadier and more advanced internet access, because the government should focus on saving its money, getting a positive reputation, as well as making sure that its citizen is safe.