In their free time, many young people (ages 14-18) regularly take part in activities such as music lessons, dance classes, and competitive sports. Some young people participate in several different activities, dividing their free time among various things they like to do. Others choose to spend most of their free time focusing on only one activity that is very important to them. In your view, which approach is better?

Some adolescents take part in various activities during their free time, others choose to spend most of their free time focusing on doing only one important activity. Personally, I believe that taking part in various activities is a more favorable approach. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, teenagers should help themselves become more knowledgeable, and requiring them to participate in different activities during their spare time help them become more knowledgeable and skillful. For instance, my niece was currently a sixteen year old high-school student, and he regularly attended a myriad of courses, including a private piano lesson, sports lessons, and a Spanish club on weekends. Consequently, he became knowledgeable in various subjects, and his classmates often admire my niece for his virtuosity. On the other hand, my father thought that language ability is exceptionally important to him. Thus, when my father was a teenager, he spent most of his leisure time studying foreign languages, such as English, French, and Spanish. Nevertheless, while it is true that he became extremely knowledgeable in numerous languages, he did not study other subjects that often, so he had problems doing even the simplest arithmetic without the help of calculators. So apparently, young people can improve their knowledge and skills by joining different events.

In addition, educators should care about 14-18 years old young people's future, and asking them to partake in various events can help them understand better about what they want to do in the future. As an example, I am currently a computer engineer, and when I was still a high school student, I did not know what job and career I was interested in. Thus, I divided my free time on weekends and took a variety of online courses that I'm interested in, including piano lessons and programming lessons. One day, I was fascinated by the beauty of algorithms and wanted to become an engineer. In retrospect, I always think that if I did not explore and try different activities during my leisure time, I would probably not discover my deep interest in computers. Contrarily, my friend, Todd, only do Olympiad-level math problems on weekends when he was an adolescebt since he thought that math is important to his future career. Yet, when Todd became a math student in National Taiwan University, he discovered that academic mathematics is drastically different from recreational mathematics, and he often felt overwhelmed by his college math textbooks. Had Todd participated in other events like the College Math Tour when he was young, he might have faced the truth earlier and prevented himself from entering the department that he had no interest in.

In conclusion, I maintain that participating in different activities is a better option due to the aforementioned reasons.