Imagine you are working on a group project with two coworkers, and the deadline (the time that the project should be submitted) is approaching. The project looks good but could be improved if you all work on it more; however, this would mean that you miss the deadline. One of your coworkers suggests submitting the project in its current condition to meet the deadline, while your other coworker thinks it is better to wait and submit the project after the deadline so that it is perfect.

Which approach is better in your opinion: meeting deadlines even if a project is not yet perfect or submitting a project after a deadline so that it is perfect? Why?

For this kind of situation, some people maintain that they should hand in the group project before the deadline even though the quality of such project is not perfect. Others argues that submitting the perfect assignment after the deadline is more favorable. For me, I prefer the second option. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, most students, including me, should place an emphasis on responsibility. I consider the quality of my assignments as a top priority because the perfection of a project reflect how much effort and time I spent on it. That is, if i informed my professor of inperfection in my project and requested him to give me more time working it, he would definitely considered me as a responsible person. For instance, if I am currently doing a programming project and I realize that there are several noticeable vulnerabilities needed to be fixed. Then, if I told my lecturer that my assignment, he would probably condone me, extend the deadline for me, and give me a chance to make up for it. Contrarily, if I submitted my code to meet the deadline, the professor might notice several bugs immediately and thought that I did not pay full attention to my project.

In addition, I am exceptionally concerned about my grade, but handing the group project late might seriously affect my grade. This is because most professors only take away a small number of credits after submitting one's homework late. Contrarily, lecturers usually give students a terrible grade if their assignment contains conspicuous flaws. For instance, I once took a course called Introduction to Machine Learning. My teammates and I trained a reinforcement learning model with only 50% of accuracy. Yet, improving the model's accuracy require us another week, so we requested our instructors the permission to hand in our project later for a week. The professor agreed, but he told us that 20% of the final credit will be taken away. Eventually, we handed in our work late, but we do successfully came up with a 92 percent accurate RL model, so we only lost a little credits.

In conclusion, I prefer to wait and submit a perfect assignment after the deadline due to the aforementioned reasons.