Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that the rules for young people to follow these days are too strict, while others think that they are not. Based on my personal experience, I agree with the statement. That is, I believe that most regulations on young people are too harsh.

First, adults should care about young people's mental health, and a myriad of young people nowadays suffer from several mental illnesses, such as depression and insomnia. Thus, it is evident that regulation on young people might be too strict. Take me as an example. When I was studying in high-school, my school established tons of studying regulations, such as disallowing us to join art clubs, not allowing students to practice instruments after classes, and so on. Consequently, lots of my classmates, including me, become extremely depressed because we cannot do what we want to do. Nevertheless, my parents live in a period of time where everyone is liberal and open minded. Consequently, nearly everyone in their generation has an extremely positive personality.

Secondly, from time to time, generation gap is another key factor that makes young people not willing to obey rules. In other words, several policies might seem outdated, and according to modern standard, some rules are indeed too hard to follow. For instance, the average number of teacher per school in my country rises within three decades. Therefore, if teachers still enacted policies for young people that are too hard to obey, such as requiring students to greet to their teacher spontaneously whenever they meet them on the corridor. Then, even the most submissive student will think that these rules are too difficult to agree upon, because they might say "good evening, Teacher" for more that 100 times a day in school. Nonetheless, thirty years ago, there are only few teacher in a single school, so this requirement is quite reasonable in the past.

Last but not least, modern people care more about freedom than politeness. That is, if young people discover that some requirements might compromise their fundamental freedom, they might choose to not participate in the protocol. Take my brother as an example. My brother's school enacted several rules that restrict students' liberty, such as not allowing people to have a relationship with others, joining a club, bringing food to school, and so on. As a result, many students in his school, including him, feel that their basic freedom guaranteed by the constitution is severely damaged. Thus, they become recalcitrant and not willing to obey the school rules. Yet, in the past, most people are extremely polite toward the elderly. Accordingly, if teachers passed regulations that limit their liberty, they might choose to tolerate them instead.

In conclusion, I maintain that regulations on young people nowadays are too strict, this is due to the generation gap and freedom. Moreover, the worsening mental status of the youth is another convincing evidence.