Imagine you are working on a group project with two coworkers, and the deadline (the time that the project should be submitted) is approaching. The project looks good but could be improved if you all work on it more; however, this would mean that you miss the deadline. One of your coworkers suggests submitting the project in its current condition to meet the deadline, while your other coworker thinks it is better to wait and submit the project after the deadline so that it is perfect.

Which approach is better in your opinion: meeting deadlines even if a project is not yet perfect or submitting a project after a deadline so that it is perfect? Why?

Whether students should meet deadlines even if a project is not yet perfect arouses a heated debate. Some people agree, while others believe that submitting a more perfect project after a deadline is a more preferable option. For me, I prefer the first approach. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, most students, including me, are concerned about their grade. Thus, handing in our assignment immediately can prevent us from getting a terrible score. For instance, I once submitted my machine learning final group project two hours later. This is because we wanted to make our model flawless, so we decided to re-train our image recognition model to increase the model's correctness by 10%. Yet, my professors refused to accept any project that missed the deadline. As a result, my teammates and got an F on our assignment, despite the fact that our model's precision and efficiency both ranked first in the whole class. Contrarily, my friend, Jimmy, also participated in the course, and his team's model yielded 80% accurate. Nevertheless, they thought that the model is already accurate and decided to turn in their assignment instantly. Consequently, although his model only ranked tenth place, Jimmy and his coworkers still got B-plus on their project. Apparently, waiting and handing in the project after the deadline will make me procure a horrible score on my project.

In addition, I place an emphasis on my reputation, so if the quality of my project is already acceptable, handing in the homework immediately prevents me from getting a horrible reputation. For example, I once did a microeconomics project with a group of 3 people, but we wanted to rewrite the project with Latex, so we handed in our project late. However, we veto such an idea and submitted our project on time. Eventually, even though our project was not perfect, our professor still praised us for both having the incentive to improve the project and handing in the assignment in time. On the other hand, my best friend, Todd, submitted his report one day after the deadline because he wanted to improve his algorithm final project by appending some first-handed references to his project. Yet, his professor reprimanded him for turning in his homework late, despite the fact that his whole project was impeccable. From the examples mentioned above, we can observe that professors are extremely concerned about assignment deadlines, so submitting homework after the deadline will undoubtedly make people gain a terrible reputation regardless of how immaculate their assignment is.

In conclusion, I prefer to submit the project in its current condition to meet the deadline due to the aforementioned reasons.