Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is difficult for a teacher to be both popular (well-liked) and effective in helping students in learning.

Whether a popular teacher cannot be effective in assisting students in learning, and vice versa, arouses a heated debate. As for me, I fully agree that it is extremely challenging for educators to strike a balance between effectiveness and popularity. My reasons are as follows.

Students, in general, prefer energetic teachers as opposed to strict teachers. In other words, if a teacher wants to become popular and being liked by pupils, they need to sacrifice being strict to students. As a result, students' learning efficiency will undoubtedly deteriorate significantly. Take my middle school music teacher as an example. My music teacher wanted to be friendly toward her students. She frequently spotted her students spacing out and gossiping during the class, but owing to the fact that my music teacher wanted to maintain her popularity, she chose to tolerate her students' misbehaviors. Unfortunately, since most students were unattentive throughout the entire lecture, nobody had gotten a score higher than B-minus on their final exams. Contrarily, my high school math teacher, Mr. Lieu, was exceptionally strict; he required his students to do ten diabolical math problems every week. Thus, even though most of his pupils performed well on their midterm math exams, every student, including me, portrayed him as an unforgettable evil villain. Evidently, it is a dilemma for an educator to find a balance between popularity and learning productivity.

Conspicuously, the quality of teaching materials is highly related to students' studying efficiency, but once a lecturer becomes popular, he/she might incorporate amusing yet unrelated contents into the material. As a result, the decrease of the course quality will undoubtedly result in students' worsening effectiveness. As an example, my father is a high school history teacher. One day, my father bumped into a research paper stating that the degree of fun facts in an educator's teaching materials is significantly proportionate to an educator's popularity, so he decided to include intriguing historical facts in his history notes. Nevertheless, students were too obsessed with these funny historical stories that they tend to forget the important historical facts that they should have learned. Eventually, even though my father become popular in his school, most of his students perform incredibly terribly.

In conclusion, I completely agree that being poplar and helping students become effective is contradictory due to the aforementioned reasons.