Imagine you are working on a group project with two coworkers, and the deadline (the time that the project should be submitted) is approaching. The project looks good but could be improved if you all work on it more; however, this would mean that you miss the deadline. One of your coworkers suggests submitting the project in its current condition to meet the deadline, while your other coworker thinks it is better to wait and submit the project after the deadline so that it is perfect. Which approach is better in your opinion: meeting deadlines even if a project is not yet perfect or submitting a project after a deadline so that it is perfect? Why?

For this kind of situation, whether meeting deadlines even if a project is not yet perfect arouse a heated debate. Some people agree, while others believe that submitting a more perfect project after a deadline is a more preferable action. Personally, I prefer the first option. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, students place an emphasis on their assignment's score. Thus, if I am currently work on a programming group project with two coworkers, and the project already looks fantastic before the deadline. Then, handing in our assignment immediately can prevents us from getting a terrible score. This is because professors are, in fact, more concerned about whether students have the ability to finish a project in time compared to the project's quality. Thus, submitting a project after a deadline means that students do not fulfill the requirements, so professors tend to give students no credits at all. For instance, I once submitted my final machine learning group project two hours later because we wanted to re-train our model and try to increase the model's accuracy by 10%. Yet, my professors refused to accept it, so even though our model ranked first in my class, we obtained no credits for this project at all.

In addition, if the quality of my project is already acceptable, handing in the homework immediately prevents me from being portrayed as an irresponsible person. This is because most professors consider late submission as an irresponsible act for students. That is, the purpose of deadline is to limit the amount of time students can spent on a particular project. In other words, such limitation is similar to a contract; lecturers offer students time in exchange of their grade. As a result, turning in homework late means that students violates the contract. As an example, my economy teacher required everyone to do an investigation on Taipei City's microeconomy. However, my teammates wanted to format our whole report using Latex, so we handed in the assignment late. Nevertheless, my professor was furious about our late submission because he thought that we are irresponsible and violated his "contract". Eventually, even though I sill got some credits for late submission, every since then, I always submitted my project before the deadline in order to prevent myself from being considered as an irresponsible student.

In conclusion, I prefer to submit the project in its current condition to meet the deadline due to the aforementioned reasons.