A professor wants his/her students to learn as much as possible in a short period of time, which do you think is more helpful in achieving this goal: requiring students to work together as a group or to work alone.

Whether professors should help students learn as much as possible via encourage students to work together arouses a heated debate. Some people agree with the statement, while others claim that asking students to work individually is a more advisable suggestion. As far as I am concerned, I believe that the first option is better. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, making sure that students have strong motivation is a judicious approach for lecturers to help students learn as much as possible, and asking students to cooperate with each other as a group can assist students in developing strong motivation. For example, my college web design professor demanded that students should participate in at least one professional web design programming project. Therefore, whenever I saw my teammates work diligently and design a friendly, intuitive, and beautiful front-end, it motivated me to write high-quality back-end codes because I did not want to devastate my team member's hard working. Eventually, I always had the motivation to carry on that project, and I gained lots of knowledge from the course because I devoted a great amount of time doing it. On the contrary, my calculus professor required me to do all problem sets in the textbook alone. Nevertheless, I was extremely afraid of arcane math equations, so I frequently felt lackluster and depresse whenever I did my math assignments alone. Consequently, I only leared a few calculus skills because I became less motivated whenever I studied that subject.

Furthermore, encouraging communication is another way for professor to help students acquire as much knowledge as possible, and requiring students to work together as a group can undoubtedly facilitate communication. Take my algorithm professor as an example. My professor required every students to join algorithm group discussions every week. The problems proposed by my teacher are diabolically difficult, but through class discussion, my classmates and I were able to exchange different ideas and thoughts. As a result, I learned a plethora of insightful ideas and points of view from different students. On the other hand, my machine learning lecturer asked students to train deep-learning models all by ourselves. Hence, since my teacher considered discussion as plagiarism, I could not ask my classmates for help whenever I failed to understand details and procedures of building such models. Accordingly, I did not have opportunities to exchanging knowledge with other classmates, so I did not learn AI concepts efficiently and effectively. So apparently, not allowing students to interact with others might make them procure less knowledge.

In conclusion, I maintain that encourage students to work together is an advisable method to help students learn as much as possible, considering the aforementioned reasons and examples.