At some colleges and universities, during the first few days or weeks of school, events are planned so that new students will get to know other students. Which ONE of the following events do you think would best help new students get to know other students? Why?

-Participating in games or sports competitions together

-Going on a trip together for several days

-Working together on a community service project to improve some aspect of life in the local area.

What event should students participate in to make acquaintance with other students arouses a heated debate. Some people think that students should take part in games or sport competitions. Others claim that going on a trip for several days is better. Still others maintain that working together on a community service project is more favorable. For me, I believe that participating in games or sports competition is more ideal. My reasons are as follows

To begin with, in order to let students know other people during the first few days of school, universities must actively interact with others. And apparently, organizing events that help students participate in games or sports can provide students opportunities to interact with others and understand each other better. Take my university as an example. My college encourage students to join a Minecraft competition server established by school faculties during the first week of school. Through hanging around in the virtual world, I frequently interacted with new students via chatting in the dialect box and playing virtual parkour. As a result, I became familiar with nearly all new students in less than two weeks. Contrarily, if I worked together with new students in a community project during the first few week, such as donating some food to economically disadvantaged families in my town. Then, we might become extremely busy collecting money and preparing for fresh food. If this is the case, then we won't have that much chance to interact with each other, not to mention making acquaintance with new people. So evidently, letting students interact with others undoubtedly help them get familiar with new people.

In addition, people like to make friends with others who share similar hobbies. Hence, if the university planned some events that aided students in discovering others who share the same interest during the first few days of school, students can definitely know more new pupils. As an example, my college once required every students to pick a sport competition that interest me the most on the fifth day of my school. Thus, I attended a badminton competition event when I was a freshman, and I discovered several students who were better at badminton than me. Eventually, I asked them to teach me advanced badminton skills, and several days later, we became close friends. On the other hand, during my brother's second week of school, his university forced every freshman student to go on a hiking trip on Yanmingshan National Park for four days. Nevertheless, everyone had different interests, and nobody enjoyed observing flowers and trees in the national park. Hence, most students were playing Nintendo NDS or watching Youtube videos alone, and my brither did not get acquainted with a single person during the trip.

In conclusion, I maintain that participating in games or sports competition is more ideal due to the aforementioned reasons.