At some colleges and universities, during the first few days or weeks of school, events are planned so that new students will get to know other students. Which ONE of the following events do you think would best help new students get to know other students? Why?

-Participating in games or sports competitions together

-Going on a trip together for several days (for example, traveling to visit an important park or historical site)

-Working together on a community service project to improve some aspect of life in the local area (for example, by collecting food to give to people who cannot afford to buy food)

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

What event should students participate in to make acquaintance with other students arouses a heated debate. Some people think that students should take part in games or sport competitions. Others claim that going on a trip for several days is better. Still others maintain that working together on a community service project is more favorable. For me, I believe that participating in games or sports competition is more ideal. My reasons are as follows

To begin with, in order to let students know other people, school must actively interact with others. And apparently, letting students participate in games or sports provides students opportunities to interact with others. Take my university as an example. My college encourage students to join a Minecraft competition server established by school faculties. Through hanging around in the virtual world, I frequently interacted with new students via chatting in the dialect box and playing virtual parkour. As a result, I became familiar with nearly all new students in less than two weeks. Contrarily, if I worked together with new students in a community project, such as donating some food to economically disadvantaged families in my town. Then, we might become extremely busy collecting money and preparing for fresh food. If this is the case, then we won't have that much chance to interact with each other, not to mention making acquaintance with new people.

In addition, people like to make friends with others who share similar hobbies, so aiding students in discovering others who share the same interest is another approach to help students know each other. As an example, my college once required every students to pick a sport competition that interest me the most. Thus, I attended a badminton competition event when I was a freshman, and I discovered several students who were better at badminton than me. Eventually, I asked them to teach me advanced badminton skills, and several days later, we became close friends. On the other hand, my brother's university forced every freshman student to go on a hiking trip on Yanmingshan National Park for four days. Nevertheless, everyone had different interests, and nobody enjoyed observing flowers and trees in the national park. Hence, most students were playing Nintendo NDS or watching Youtube videos alone, and my brither did not get acquainted with a single person during the trip.

In conclusion, I maintain that participating in games or sports competition is more ideal due to the aforementioned reasons.