If you are a leader of a group of three to four people, which of the following features are the most important when choosing group members?

-honesty

-the ability to get along well with others

-the ability to communicate clearly

When it comes to choosing a group member, Some people think that honesty is the most critical feature. Others claim that the ability to get along well with others is more vital. Still, others maintain that the ability to communicate is preferable. For me, I believe that the second kind of person is the most ideal candidate. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, when I work in a group of three to four people, I am exceptionally concerned about working efficiency, and choosing people who are talented in communicating with others can significantly improve my team's working efficiency. As an example, I was required to complete a programming project with two people when I was studying in middle school, and I chose a classmate, Todd, who was exceptionally talented in communicating with others. He talked with others, discovered some middle ground, and helped me determine a programming language and a cloud platform that everybody understood. As a result, my group completed the whole project in less than three weeks because we saved plenty of time reconciling with others. On the other hand, another of my group member, Jimmy, was a truthful person. Nevertheless, his blatant and honest remarks, such as his unwillingness to adopt other people's ideas, made him negotiate with his teammates unsuccessfully. Therefore, even though Jimmy was a candid and righteous person, his lack of communication skills prevented him from successfully reconciling with his classmates, leading to the decline in our working efficiency.

In addition, whenever I worked in a group, conflicts become inevitable. And apparently, having an extraordinary communication skill helps reduce conflicts and facilitate cooperation. Take Todd again as an example. Whenever my group had quarrels about job division problems, such as who should be responsible for the frontend design, Todd would utilize his communication skill and help his teammates find a middle ground. Eventually, our group had less friction and tension, so we could collaborate with others without getting into any conflict. Contrarily, another of my groupmate, Richard, was a easy-going person. Nevertheless, he was too nice to judge his teammates whenever they had disputes about job responsibility issues. As a result, he often stay neutral whenever argument took place, so his easy-going personality did not help him deal with team disagreements successfully.

In conclusion, I maintain that people with an astounding communication skills make the best teammate due to the aforementioned reasons. After all, such people can assist me in addressing disputes and enhance efficiency.