If you are a leader for a group of three to four people, which of the following features are the most important when choosing group members?

-honesty

-the ability to get along well with others

-the ability to communicate clearly

When it comes to choosing a group member, some people think that honesty is the most critical feature. Others claim that the ability to get along well with others is more vital. Still, others maintain that having outstanding communication skills is preferable. As far as I am concerned, I believe that the third person is the most ideal candidate. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, I am exceptionally concerned about working efficiency, and choosing nominees who are talented in communicating with others can significantly improve efficiency. For example, I was once a leader of a programming project group, and I chose my classmate, Todd, who was exceptionally talented in communicating with others. Todd helped me listen to other members’ opinions, negotiated with his group members, and helped me determine a programming language and a cloud platform that everybody liked and understood. As a result, my group could establish goals quickly, and eventually, we completed the assignment in no more than two weeks. On the other hand, another of my group member, Jimmy, was a truthful person. Nevertheless, whenever he encountered different opinions or suggestions, he often blatantly told his teammates that he disagreed. Consequently, even though Jimmy was a truthful person, his lack of communication skills prevented him from successfully reconciling with his classmates and setting up a short-term goal quickly, resulting in the decline in our working efficiency.

In addition, conflicts become inevitable when working in a group, and having extraordinary communication skills helps lessen confrontations. Take Todd again as an example. Whenever my group had some disputes about job division problems, such as who should be responsible for the frontend design and main programming logic, Todd would utilize his communication skill and help his teammates discover a middle ground. Eventually, our group became friction-free, and we could often work together without too much tension. Contrarily, another of my groupmate, Richard, was an easy-going person. Unfortunately, he was too nice to judge his teammates whenever they had disputes about job responsibility issues. In other words, he often stayed neutral whenever an argument took place, so his easy-going personality did not help him deal with team disagreements successfully. So evidently, possessing a remarkable communication ability helps reduce conflicts and tension in a group.

In conclusion, I maintain that people with astounding communication skills make the best teammate due to the aforementioned reasons. After all, such people can assist me in addressing disputes and enhance efficiency.