Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that movies and television have negative impact on young people, while others do not think so. Based on my personal experience, I think that movies and TV have generally a negative effects on the youth. The reasons are as follows.

First, most movies and TV programs contain inappropriate contents that might affect young people's behavior, such as violence and swear word, so if they watch too much movies, they might develop an extremely negative personality if children watch too much of these programs. Take my friend Todd as an example. Todd watched a myriad of movie and TV programs when he was young, and he tended to follow horrible behaviors from the antagonists in several movies. For instance, he tried to imitate bad guys in the movie and pretended to kill and hurt others for fun. In addition, he also learned tons of foul words from several political late night shows. As a result, his characteristic was distorted when he was a child. Nevertheless, when he grew up, he decided to watch less movies and read more books and magazines. Several months later, his horrible personalities were all gone.

Secondly, parents should care about children's mental health, and allowing them to watch too many television programs might severely compromise their mental status. To elaborate, news in my country contains terrible content, such as people fighting or having a quarrel with others. What's more, news regarding disaster and war are extremely hard for kids to digest. Therefore, if young people watch too much negative news, they might feel despondent about the society, and in the long run, it might make them develop an extremely pessimistic personality. However, if parents disallow their children to watch TV and let them hang out with their friends instead, it can help them establish a more positive characteristic because chatting and having fun with friends can help young people become a better person.

Finally, kids should place an emphasis on their learning, and if they watch too many movies or TV programs, they might become extremely ineffective in their studies. Take my friend Joe as an example. When Joe was young, he spent a significant amount of time watching movies using his computer. More precisely, he spent literally 4 to 5 hours per day relishing different types of movies for fun. Consequently, he did not have enough time to do his schoolwork, study for his exam, and prepare for school projects. In the long run, his learning ability was damaged due to those movies. Nonetheless, my sister Kitty did not have access to any movies or television. As a result, when she was young, she had more time to study, so she got a pretty descent grade at school.

In conclusion, I maintain that movies and television cause more negative influence to young people's behavior. This is mainly because the majority of TV programs and movies contain bad content. Also, parents should focus on their children's mental health and learning status, so they should definitely keep movies and television out of their kid's life.