In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets. Which way do you think is more effective?

What is the best method for the government to improve safety and attract tourists arouses a heated debate. Some argue that hiring more police is a better way to tackle this problem, while others maintain that repairing old buildings and streets is a more ideal approach. Personally, I believe that hiring more police is a more favorable solution. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, reducing crime in a city is a great way to enhance security, and hiring more police officers can undoubtedly reduce the crime rate and attract more tourists. For instance, the Taipei City government hired 200 police officers before the 2016 Universiade took place. The mayor ordered these police officers to arrest bad guys from harming innocent citizens an tourists, and they eventually apprehended more than 100 drug dealers, gang members, and kidnappers in less than a month. Two months later, the crime rate dropped from 3% to nearly 0.1%, and most tourists are willing to visit Taipei because they heard of this news. However fixing the appearance of an old building will not decrease the crime rate, because most criminals hide in different buildings every day, regardless of the house's appearance. So according to my city government's experience, employing more police can help the city ameliorate crimes and enhance tourisms.

In addition, improving infrastructure is another approach to increase city security, and employing more police officers will definitely improve a city's infrastructure. Take the Taipei City government again as an example. After the government hired hundreds of new police officers, they realized that most severe traffic accidents in Taipei City took place in only 12 specific roads. After several investigations, the police figured out that some infrastructure, such as traffic lights, were outdated or broken for years. Consequently, they reported this incident to the mayor, and the Taipei City government sent some technicians to fix it. After that, Taipei City's basic infrastructure improved, several reporter covered this news, and many domestic tourists decided to visit Taipei because they heard that the basic infrastructure have enhanced dramastically. On the other hand, repairing old buildings will not increase public security. This is because without statistics, it is nearly impossible to identify which street is hazardous and which isn't. Evidently, repairing old buildings and streets will not increase city's security

In conclusion, I believe that hiring more police is the best way to enhance safety due to the aforementioned reasons.