In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets. Which way do you think is more effective?

Nowadays, most local governments have noticed the positive correlation between economy and tourism, that is, a bourgeoning tourism contributes to a booming economy. This is why the issue how to boost tourism industry has received extensive attention. While some may claim that improving security via the recruitment of more police is an effective way of attracting tourists, others contend that the best way lies in the renovation of buildings and streets. As for me, I am inclined to side with the latter.

To begin with the renovation of old buildings and streets helps to preserve culture. The old buildings in many cities as well as old streets may serve as the city's landmark and symbolize the city’s culture. In fact, it is exactly the long-lasting charm of each city’s distinctive culture that many tourists wish to witness with their own eyes during each journey. Nonetheless, as years pass by, many traditional buildings and streets have become too old to hold any visitors. Only through meticulous renewal can these attractions once again showcase their cultural enchantment and hearty life-force. Take Tai Mahal the white marble mausoleum in India as an example. Reputed as the crown of palaces, Taj Mahal now attracts more than three million visitors each year However, during the time of the Indian rebellion of 1857, Taj Mahal was severely defaced by the British soldiers through the chiseling out of many precious stones. It is the sweeping restoration at the end of the 19th century that brings Taj Mahal to its present glory and boosts the development of India's tourism as well as economy.

Moreover, repairing the buildings and streets helps to enhance the travel experience as well. To be more detailed, tourists will enjoy more as long as the city provides convenient and comfortable facilities. Consequently, people tend to choose those sightseeing places which boast of high-quality accommodations. An illustration may make this point clear. During recent years, an increasing number of people prefer self-conducted tours. And when arranging their own itinerary and schedule, most people will set their destinations’ facilities as a priority, which guarantee the comfort and convenience of their tour. In their minds as long as the city is built with convenient streets and beautiful auxiliary facilities, they can truly appreciate its charm and enjoy their vacation. In other words, renovated buildings and streets attract more tourists.

Granted, hiring more police can, to some extent, help attract tourists since it helps to improve the city’s security standard. These days, there has emerged a growing trend for people to organize family tours. For those people, security must also be high on their list of consideration as they must pay special attention to the safety of the children and/or the elderly. As a result, cities with more police force are more attractive for them. However, only focusing on police force is not at all enough in terms of developing the tourism industry. Without any distinctive scenic spots or historical sites, no visitors would come, in spite of high security standard.

In retrospect, the most effective way for governments to attract more tourists is to renovate buildings and streets so as to preserve the city’s culture and enhance the tourists’ travel experience.