In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets. Which way do you think is more effective?

What is the best method for the government to improve safety and attract tourists arouses a heated debate. Some argue that hiring more police is a better way to tackle this problem, while others maintain that repairing old buildings and streets is a more ideal approach. Personally, I believe that hiring more police is a more favorable solution. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, reducing crime is a great method to appeal tourists, and hiring more police officers can undoubtedly reduce the crime rate and attract more tourists. For instance, the Taipei City government hired 200 police officers before the 2016 Universiade took place. The mayor ordered these police officers to arrest bad guys from harming innocent citizens an tourists, and they eventually apprehended more than 100 drug dealers, gang members, and kidnappers in less than a month. Two months later, the crime rate dropped from 3% to nearly 0.1%, and most tourists are willing to visit Taipei because they heard of this news. So according to my city government's experience, employing more police can help the city ameliorate crimes and enhance tourism.

On the other hand, repairing old streets and buildings will not interest tourists. First of all, most citizens relish local cultures and religions, but fixing old buildings will alter the original shape and meanings of a certain building. For example, many foreign tourists wanted to experience festivals held in Taoism temples in Taiwan. However, the government decided to attract more tourists and renew the most famous temple in Taipei, as known as the "Long San Temple", by repainting the with red lacquer. In addition, the government also tried to reestablish some roads that were full of pits near the temple. Nevertheless, several tourists were upset that the most essential historical building is fixed, and the environment did not fully represent the Taiwanese culture. The disappointment led to a horrible review on Google map, and several years later, the number of visitors decreased dramastically.

In conclusion, I believe that hiring more police is the best way to enhance safety due to the aforementioned reasons.