Imagine that you have been given the opportunity to advise the government of a city or region (area) that you are familiar with to spend more money on ONE thing to benefit the city or region. Which ONE of these do you believe would be the most beneficial for the city or region? Why?

-Providing more affordable housing

-Reducing air and water pollution

-Attracting new businesses to the city or region

If I have enough expertise to advise the government of one thing that can benefit the city or region, some people would undoubtedly suggest the government to provide more affordable housing. Others would recommend the government to reduce air and water pollution. Still others claim that attracting new businesses to the city or region is the most favorable approach. For me, I believe that attracting new businesses is the best approach. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, the government should place more emphasis on the economy, and suggesting the government attract new businesses to the city or region can boost the local economy and benefit the city. As an example, the Hsinchu City government wanted to incorporate computer technologies by createing several information-science related job opportunities. Therefore, thousands of IT companies decided to reside in Hsinchu, and these prestigious companies leaded to the increasing number of book stores, schools, movie theaters, etc. Several decades later, the whole economy of Hsinchu City skyrocketed, and Hsinchu become the third most prosperous city in Taiwan. On the other hand, four years ago, the Miaoli County government planned to provide a more affordable housing price by forcibly enacting the "Miaoli County Minimum Housing Price Decree". Nevertheless, the local economy of Miaoli County collapsed because no housing firm wanted to establish in Miaoli County. Apparently, offering more affordable prices is not a good idea.

In addition, the government should make sure that citizens had enough resources, especially electricity, to live a worriless life, and conspicuously, attracting new businesses to the city can help the government achieve the goal. Take Hsinchu City government again as an example. The government attracted several petroleum companies to reside in Hsinchu, leading to a high concentration of power plants built there. In the end, these energy firms benefits the whole city wiith the ability to generate nearly 80% of the city's total electricity, and Hsinchu residents never encounter electricity shortage for once. On the other hand, the Hualien County government decided to reduce air and water pollution, so it replaced nuclear plants and fossil fuel plants with windmills or solar panels. Unfortunately, these environmental friendly panels are extraordinarily inefficient, resulting in 30% of the citizens failed to have access to stable electricity.

In conclusion, if I have enough knowledge to advise the government of one thing that can benefit a city, I would undoubtedly recommend it to attract new businesses due to the aforementioned reasons.